Internet Marketing

Do you know how easy it is to make an author happy?

“Like” a blog post, a Facebook post, a tweet.

Want to really send some joy their way?

Comment! Reblog! Retweet! Share!

I have been amazed at how easy internet marketing can be with willing participants. With a few shares, a link can reach hundreds of people. Just after I started my Facebook page and invited all of my friends to like it, my cousin invited all of her friends to like it. My number of likes doubled. (It might’ve had something to do with the fact that she threatened to hunt down any of her friends that didn’t like my page, but that’s beside the point.)

I’ve made an effort lately to be more vocal on social media about what I like–reviewing on Goodreads, sharing blog posts, posting links on Facebook, etc. I try to share plenty of info for authors I like or friends working toward a goal.

We live in a world where word-of-mouth marketing has turned into word-of-social-media marketing. Often, all it takes is the click of a button to spread word to a few hundred more people. So why not? Go take a few clicks and do some marketing for your friends!

9 Comments

  1. I do like marketing for my friends, but I’m hesitant to do it for myself. I think I’ll wait until I at least have an agent or publishing deal. I’m actually not a lover of social media (except Pinterest) at heart, so it’s been a stretch for me to even start a blog. I now love it, but I’m hesitant to make an author page on FB or even join Twitter (I won’t do that unless my agent makes me). 🙂
    But I know how effective word-of-mouth, or in this case, word-of-technology, can be. Despite being only 29, I’m techno-phobic to a degree. I need to get over my issues with that, I think.

    • I was the same way. I liked the idea of a blog, but I was so anti-Twitter. Even after I made an account (because I was gently-but-persistently prodded to by my excellent marketing contact), it took me three weeks to actually tweet anything. I still feel kinda awkward on Twitter, because I don’t really know what to do with 140 characters–I’m way too verbose (as evidence by this comment). And sometimes I feel like I’m shooting a snowflake into an avalanche, but I have had some good experiences on there. Let me know if you ever get sucked into Twitter and I’ll follow you. We’ll tweet Dr. Who and Sherlock quotes at each other or something. 🙂

      I totally know what you mean about doing marketing for yourself. My biggest issue with marketing myself is that I feel totally awkward saying, “I am an author! Here is my book! Love me!” But I’m finding that if I even post a few little things about my book here and there on Twitter or FB, it gets picked up by a few friends and shared to their friends. Probably half of my likes on FB are from my cousin’s lovingly aggressive encouragement to her FB friends to check out my page. So even though I’m not on these platforms all the time, it still helps spread the word. So basically, I spend most of my effort on the blog, and those platforms are just there for my friends to be able to help share it around.

      Um, that was a long and rambling response. In summary, yes, I was the same way before my publisher encouraged me to take the plunge. It hasn’t killed me yet, but I’m still on my guard 🙂

      • I know I will have to give in to Twitter eventually, but I’m holding out. Aside from my writing and blogging, I really don’t like spending that much time on my computer or phone. They can easily suck me in and then I get nothing done, so I try to stay away as much as possible.
        I’d love to fling Wholock quotes back and forth! Haha! That’d be so fun. Most people I know don’t like Dr. Who or don’t even know what it is. (Gasp!) And they’ve never seen Sherlock. (Faint!) It’s a hard knock nerdy life over here. 🙂

      • WHAT? There are people in the world who have never seen Sherlock?! How do they live without imagining that they see words floating around every object of significance in their view?

        Okay, just kidding, I’m not that bad. But seriously. It’s my life goal to get as many people as possible hooked on Doctor Who and Sherlock. For whatever reason, I keep getting told that Doctor Who is weird. I don’t get it, it’s not like he runs around throwing a fez through time portals or anything.

      • I know! He’s such a sweetheart! And gives the best gifts. I mean, who doesn’t love a good lungful of carbon dioxide, hmm? And he’s an advocate for books!!! “You want weapons? We’re in a library! Books! The best weapons in the world.” Seriously. People obviously don’t know the meaning of the word “weird.” They must have meant fantastic!

        Yes, there are people who don’t know Sherlock. But I’ve been opening up the Sherlock world to them. I read the books and loved them growing up, so I was thrilled that BBC did such a great modern rendition. Boo to Elementary. Stinkin’ American weirdness. Now THERE’S a definition of weird! Am I right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

