Reading Material

I’ve encountered so many fun reads recently that I had to share, in case someone out there is in need of good reading material.

The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy; The Penderwicks on Gardam Street; and The Penderwicks at Pointe Mouette by Jeanne Birdsall. If you enjoyed Little Women, go read these books right now. I was severely sleep deprived yesterday because I had to find out who the Bug Man was and how Skye was going to do as the OAP. Super fun books about sisterhood and childhood adventures.

Uncovering Cobbogoth by Hannah L. Clarke. I just started reading this and am only a few chapters in, but I’m hooked. Secrets, hallucinations, codes, awkwardly uncertain relationships–it’s good stuff. I’m kind of thinking I might need my husband to hide the book tonight so I don’t stay up reading all night again.

And finally, not a book but a blog: The Stroppy Editor. This is home to some of my favorite blog posts of all time, not least among which are this one and this one. And his recent post For Writers is a fabulous response to one of those goofballs who insist that editors are useless.

What are some good reads that you’ve come across recently?

7 Comments

  1. Great blog reference. I don’t read YA, but I do follow a few series strictly for entertainment: JD Robb’s Eve Dallas series, Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden series (awesome!), Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series, and many more. I find I can blast through the latest episodes in two or three days. Now if they’d just write faster…

  2. They sound like great reads! Alas, I haven’t read anything new lately. I’ve been sleep deprived without a good book lately, so I’m rereading ones I know I love and won’t have to stay up reading since I know what’ll happen. I’ll have to check some of these out soon!

Leave a Reply

