New Old Books

I’ve picked up several books to read recently that I haven’t read since elementary school or junior high. Right now, I’m working on Flowers for Algernon, with Bridge to Terabithia to break up the sadness a little, because Flowers for Algernon is a hard read, possibly even harder than the first time I read it because I know how it ends. Although I’m nearing the end of Bridge to Terabithia, so . . . anyway, that isn’t the point.

I’ve been amazed at how much I’ve forgotten, or how much just went over my head when I was ten years old. The books that have lived one-dimensionally in my memory for so many years are taking on new depths and leaving new imprints on my soul. It makes me wonder how much I’ve forgotten from the books I claim to have read. Can I really list these books among the ones that have become a part of me when I only remember a detail or two about who died or where it took place? My to-read list now stretches in two directions: the ones I’m looking forward to reading for the first time, and the ones I hope to revisit from the past.

What are some of the books you’ve rediscovered from your youth, or that you’d like to reread? Which of your childhood favorites would you recommend?

13 Comments

  1. It is strange going back to books that I loved as a child. My mum recently bought me The Perfume which is a point horror book I loved. When reading it I realised how much the way it is written influenced my own writing style! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Great post!

  2. Excellent post! I’ve often thought about going back to read books I read as a teen. I have trouble remembering specifics in books–I do usually remember the major scenes in a book, but not the details. A couple books I remember are Island of the Blue Dolphins and Where the Red Fern Grows. Haven’t gone back to read those for longer than I care to think. I read all the Anne McCaffery Pern books as well, and again should go back and read them. Oddly, Agatha Christie’s books are also on my “should really read those again” list.

  3. Oooooo!!! I love both of those books. Both tear-jerkers, but amazing in their own right. I loved Black Beauty as a kid, and love it more as an adult. I’m rediscovering James and the Giant Peach, as well as Redwall, which I wasn’t a fan of as a child.

  4. Pingback: Posts to Check Out and a BIG thank you! | A Writer's Life For Me.

  5. Great post! I’ve actually been thinking recently that I’d love to revisit the Chronicles of Narnia series. I remember loving it but don’t actually remember a lot of the details so it’ll be interesting to see my perception of them now ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

