A Bouquet of Newly Sharpened Pencils

A switch was flipped on September 1st. The mornings turned cool and crisp, the smell of browning leaves filled the air, and it became that time of year when New York cyber-lovers offer to send bouquets of newly sharpened pencils. My brain clicked from medieval fantasy plots to high school plots. And, just in time, I got Mr. Terupt Falls Again from the library and have been happily devouring it.

It took about ten pages of Because of Mr. Terupt for Mr. Terupt to become one of my favorite fictional teachers of all time. I laughed through the first half of the book and cried through the second half. I love each of the seven students and their stories, and I love the way Mr. Terupt crafts them from children into young adults.

And I also like to imagine that that the the author’s name (Rob Buyea) is pronounced boo-yah, although his website tells me otherwise.

So what about you, my dear readers? Who are some of your favorite fictional teachers?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

