Winds-day on Saturday

There was a crazy windstorm on Saturday night that knocked out the power in several places around Seattle. We were only in the dark for a couple of minutes, but the house is surrounded by trees, which thankfully did not blow down, but did drop plenty of their needles and leaves and branches on our (long, long) driveway and lawn. It was sunny this morning, so Scout and I bundled up and headed out to work. I raked up the mess while she ran circles around me giggling. Somehow, raking becomes a lot more fun when you have a laughing toddler running around.

So that inspired today’s writing prompt:

***

How’s your character’s work ethic? Lazy, workaholic, sporadic, always starting and never completing . . . Write a scene where one character’s work ethic affects another’s life or routine.

***

Also, check out Emily’s response to last week’s writing prompt over at A Cup of English Tea. It’s a beautifully written piece. If you respond to my prompt on your blog, be sure to send me the link in the comments here! I’d love to read it!

6 Comments

  1. Toddlers and the season of fall is just a fabulous combination. I’d love to hear some little kid giggles as they throw themselves into a pile of leaves. *Sigh* 🙂
    Sorry I’ve been gone so long. I’m going to e-mail you something soon, so look for it, please. 🙂

Leave a Reply

