What? Monday’s gone already?

Here we are, halfway through Tuesday, and I’m still not sure what happened to Monday. But the week is rushing along, so I’d better get the writing prompt out. This week is going to focus on world-building—something that is more prominent in fantasy and sci-fi, but is also an important part of a real-world novel as well. It may be more world-defining than world-building, but they’re similar concepts.

I attended a panel at a conference once that was basically three old guys complaining about how nobody thinks about economics in world-building. So here is my economic prompt for you:

***

What is the main source of income for your country/city/town/village? How does your character fit into that equation? A normal worker, or an outlier? Work your character’s relation to the main economy into a scene.

***

2 Comments

  1. Oh, man, you always know right where to hit me.
    This is something I’ve struggled with for a long time in my world building. I have a general idea of economics and money and such, but it’s such a complicated topic, I feel like I can’t quite grasp it. I’ll have to do more investigating. Sigh. This is the part of world-building that drives me nuts, but that’s necessary. Blech. Thanks for reminding me to get on that!

    • Retribution for making me think logically about my characters’ injuries. 🙂 Haha, just kidding, your “Science of Injury” series is my favorite thing in the writing world right now. But I totally felt the same way when I went to that panel. It was one thing that really made me rethink the (rather pathetic) draft of Demon’s Heart that I had back then. It’s hard, but it’s worth having that level of reality in your world. That’s one of the things that makes Harry Potter amazing–it’s not just wizards and witches magicking up anything they might need in life, there’s a whole level of magical jobs and economics at play.

      Oooh, I think I’m going to have to do a whole blog post on this later instead of just a writing prompt. It’s a fun topic.

Leave a Reply

