I need other people’s words.

Sometimes, I get really tired of putting out my own words, and I need other people’s words to build up my store again. So today, instead of trying to be clever and interesting all by myself, I’m letting more brilliant authors take the stage—or, well, the blog. Enjoy!

Crazy people who are judged to be harmless are allowed an enormous amount of freedom ordinary people are denied. (Jacob Have I Loved, Katherine Paterson)

I have also heard and read various accounts of why they liked me. My favorites? I wasn’t too good-looking, I walked a little funny, and I was basically kind of average and ordinary.
I guess my lack of perfection turned out to be a winning hand. Let that be a lesson for future generations. (My Lucky Life In and Out of Show Business, Dick Van Dyke)

If there be any one grace or loveliness inseparable from that particular period of life, Miss Squeers may be presumed to have been possessed of it, as there is no reason to suppose that she was a solitary exception to a universal rule. (Nicholas Nickleby, Charles Dickens) {Dickens is the master of roundabout insults.}

There are no ‘ifs’ in God’s kingdom. I could hear [Betsie’s] soft voice saying it. His timing is perfect. His will is our hiding place. Lord Jesus, keep me in Your will! Don’t let me go mad by poking about outside it. (The Hiding Place, Corrie Ten Boom)

So Bod picked the red and yellow nasturtiums, and he carried them over to Mother Slaughter’s headstone, so cracked and worn and weathered that all it said now was,
LAUGH
which had puzzled the local historians for over a hundred years. (The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman)

12 Comments

  1. “Men have called me mad; but the question is not yet settled, whether madness is or is not the loftiest intelligence– whether much that is glorious– whether all that is profound– does not spring from disease of thought– from moods of mind exalted at the expense of the general intellect.”

    Edgar Allan Poe

  2. Jacob Have I Loved was one of my favorites growing up! I think I learned the value of rereading with that one. Also, Neil Gaiman is a genius. A genius! I’m so thankful I finally got around to reading his books last year. Thanks for sharing!! Also (cue shameless plug!), if you ever need MORE of other people’s words, check out Words, Wisdom, etc. (wordswisdometc.wordpress.com). It’s just book quotes!

    • There are a couple of quotes from Jacob Have I Loved that really stuck with me. And I’ll have to agree with you on Neil Gaiman. I’ve only read “The Graveyard Book” and “Ocean at the End of the Lane”–are there any others you’d recommend?

      And I’ve definitely been to your fabulous quotey site! It makes me super happy, and I spend far too long scrolling through the wonderful words. 🙂

Leave a Reply

