A peek at the old bookshelves…

I’ve been a delinquent blogger. I know. But guys, the past two weeks have been jam-packed helping with last-minute moves, scribbling down spur-of-the-moment story inspirations, organizing school presentations in California, enjoying these rare sunny Washington days, and using PowerPoint for the first time since college.

Which, by the way, I’m still questioning. Should I use PowerPoint or Prezi for my school presentations? I love the eye-catchiness of Prezi, but I feel like PowerPoint is easier to organize. Thoughts?

So for my presentation, I finally took pictures of my bookshelves. The pictures don’t include the random stacks of books lying throughout our house, or the books still in boxes, or the bookshelf that’s not in our “library.” But they do hold a significant portion of our books.

May I present for your perusal: the books.

DSC07736

DSC07729

DSC07739

Stitch hangin’ with the classics.

DSC07742

YA, MG, PB. Why yes, I have Harry Potter in German. Doesn’t everybody?

DSC07744

Pretty books, a machete, and more MG.

Hope you enjoyed the tour! I’d love to see your bookshelves–if you post a picture on your blog, send me the link!

8 Comments

  1. What the heck is Prezi?
    And I love your bookshelves. Primarily because they’re so organized, but also because there’s so much MG in there! And classics! Woot, woot! If I were home, I’d take a pic of my overflowing, crazily organized bookshelves. Alas, alack.

    • Crazy bookshelves are the best! That means there’s lots of well-loved books. πŸ™‚ Prezi is . . . well, it’s hard to explain. It’s like having your presentation on a whiteboard, and you zoom in to different sections instead of flicking through PowerPoint slides. I’ll email you a link to one of my Prezis from college, it’s kind of fun to see how it works.

  2. Soon I will have Harry Potter in Spanish! I get to inherit them when a friend moves back to the States. Hooray! I’m still bringing books to the Dominican Republic little by little. Ebooks are my friend.

    • Yayyyy! It’s so fun to get beloved favorites in a different language. I love having a fun way to keep up my German–although I must say that I always miss the English version I know so well when I read Harry Potter in German. And ebooks are great, especially for world travelers such as yourself. πŸ™‚

  3. Ohh, I’m so envious! Even after 15 (OMG!) years in our house, I still don’t have proper bookshelves. Maybe when the kids move out… And my daughter has inherited my penchant for books. She has less bookshelf space than I do, so her room is chock full of books in boxes, on the floor, in piles, towers, etc. My shelves consist mostly of writing books; cookbooks; nonfiction on myths, Ireland, and wellness; and reference books (dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedias). There’s also my great-great grandmother’s cookbook written in old German script around the turn of the last century. That’s a hoot to read: heat the oven until the paper is brown after ten minutes. I’ve got fiction, but the only classics are from J. R. R. Tolkien. Gotta get hubby to expand my shelves!

  4. My son got Harry Potter #4 in Hebrew while on his gap year in Israel studying there. It’s too advanced for me but I enjoyed comparing it to the English to see how much vocabulary I could recognize.

    • Oh, that would be so cool! I took a semester of Hebrew in college, but pretty much the only word I can remember any more is “reading.” Appropriate, right? But I love seeing favorite books in other languages, because it makes it so much easier to pick out words and phrases.

Leave a Reply

