What? June?

Hey there, guys. Remember me? It’s been a few weeks, but I’m still here. Since we last met, I wen to California, turned a quarter of a century old, killed my old cell phone, caved in and got a smart phone, finally met one of my amazing critique buddies face-to-face, and ran across an entertaining children’s book series about a quirky British family of artists by Hilary McKay.

I suppose writing is in there somewhere, too. And mapping. My fabulous map-making brother sat me down and talked through some details of the map for Demon’s Heart and the two following books, which made a huge difference in how the books run. It never ceases to amaze me how completely a pair of fresh eyes can impact a story. I’m so grateful for my critique partners and beta readers who hammer my stories into better shape.

I’m excited to get back into blogging regularly again, as I now have a backlog of ideas, but for now, take up the Monday Writing Challenge for this week:

***

Draw a map for a place in your story, be it a country, a city, or a house. Let someone else have a look at it and ask all the questions that you never thought about.

***

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

