Day 3, Quote 3

My final quote is sort of a nested quote. I first discovered it in Wonder by RJ Palacio, but the quote comes originally from JM Barrie:

“Shall we make a new rule of life from tonight: always to try to be a little kinder than is necessary?” (JM Barrie, The Little White Bird)

Friends, let’s all make this a new rule of our own lives. As dear Helen Burns says (yes, I’m cheating and including two quotes), “Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity.” (Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre)

There’s far too much spite and hatred in the world, and it makes me cringe when I scan past pockets of vile antagonism in every corner of the Internet. Let’s do our part to make it stop by always trying to be a little kinder than is necessary.

For my final day, I’m tagging (another) Emily at A Cup of English Tea. (There are an awful lot of us Emilys around, aren’t there?) I love her blog name, and I love her blog posts even more! The challenge is to post one quote a day for three days, and to tag one blogger each day to participate.

Guys, I really really really love quotes, and this has been such a treat! Thanks again to my fabulous Phantom friend at Inkcouragement for tagging me!

7 Comments

  1. Oh I LOVE Jane Eyre and I always cry when Helen dies. One of my professors talked about how annoying she is and I just didn’t understand. I think she’s far too undervalued in terms of her role in the book, short as it is. Ah and J.M. Barrie too! Good references all around. Anyhow, great post! Love this idea and really think I might do it!

    • Oh my goodness, annoying?! I would have died! I love Helen so much. She has such a huge impact on Jane in such a short amount of time. That kind of character always amazes me. I’m excited to see what you come up with if you do it! I’m such a quote junky, I love seeing people’s favorite quotes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

