Something new

I’ve been contemplating doing something new on Mondays for a while. Writing prompts are fun, but I’m getting less response on them, and I like changing things up now and again.

Since I’m on a quote high after my three-day challenge, Mondays are now Quote Day! After all, you can never have too many good quotes.

I may have mentioned before that I teach piano, when I’m not scribbling stories or chasing down my little monkey. Since I was young, I’ve had a great respect and appreciation for the power of music, and it’s something that I’m working hard to pass on to as many young people as possible.

And thus today’s quote:

β€œMusic expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent.” (Victor Hugo)

As much as I love words, music is a different plane of communication that tells stories words can never express.

What are some of the songs that have spoken to you?

3 Comments

  1. Woohoo!!! Quote day! How fun!
    I love this quote from Hugo. Having grown up around music and being in choirs and musicals, I can’t say enough about the effect music has had on my life. I know another quote, very similar to this: “After silence, that which comes closest to expressing the inexpressible–is music.” ~ Aldous Huxley.
    I don’t know as I could narrow down the songs that have spoken most to me. So many. I adore Schubert, and Ralph Vaughan Williams’ “Dona Nobis Pacem” is brilliant. I performed it with my college choir in Carnegie Hall, and it still gives me chills to listen to that music.
    Of course, modern musicians are on my list, as well, but there are too many to name.

  2. Great quote, Em! After I read the post, I stopped to think about songs that have spoken to me, and there are just sooo many, some of which inspired stories. Sometimes it’s the power of the melody, sometimes the energy in the bass or the drumbeats. The music from Lord of the Dance and Riverdance always get my creative juices running. Enya and the Chieftains (notice a theme here?) are also on my playlist, but there’s still room for U2, Sting, and some great oldies from the Grassroots, the Beach Boys, and Duran Duran. Can’t leave the one-hit wonders or classical music out either.

    Instrumental music inspires me the most, because then I’m not tempted to sing along πŸ˜‰ !

Leave a Reply

