Anne’s beauty

The sun went away this weekend, and so did the power, for a while. I love autumn, but I wasn’t ready for it to come storming in the last week of August, blowing down trees and power lines all over. It’s supposed to rain all week, which means a driveway full of soggy pine needles that are going to get tracked all over the house.

But it also means that the grass is going to green up again, the fires will hopefully die down, the leaves are going to change, and one happy little toddler is going to dance around outside in her puddle boots. It means I can go through dozens of cans of pumpkin and warm the house with the oven until it all smells like cookies and bread and muffins.

I’ve been reading Anne of Avonlea, and I just love Anne’s ability to see beauty in so many things that other people see only as ordinary or even ugly. I think that’s a talent that could do a lot of good in the world, especially in the world of writers.

There’s a beautiful scene where Anne and Gilbert are discussing their hopes and dreams, and Anne says, in her dreamy way, “I’d like to add some beauty to life . . . some little joy or happy thought that would never have existed if I hadn’t been born.” (54)

A worthwhile goal, no?

6 Comments

  1. I used to watch a series called Road to Avonlea. I wonder if it has something to do with the book you are talking about here. All I know is I loved (and still do) the story, the characters and the place. Reminds me of Anne of the Green gables. Simple life of ordinary people in a common setting but oh so touching and dreamy I would love to live there.

Leave a Reply

